In general, there are three levels of misdemeanors in Colorado. There are first, second, and third degree misdemeanors. There are different punishment ranges for drug misdemeanors and certain extraordinary risk crimes. A heightened punishment may be imposed if a person has committed certain misdemeanors in the past (for example, a second conviction for violation of protection order can carry a longer sentence than the first conviction).
The most serious misdemeanor, a first degree misdemeanor, carries a potential penalty of 6-18 months in jail. A second degree misdemeanor could result in 3-12 months in jail. Whereas a third degree misdemeanor could mean up to 6 months in jail. A person may also face fines and court costs if convicted of a misdemeanor.
It is important to speak with a criminal defense attorney before pleading guilty to any criminal charge, even if it is a misdemeanor.
Padilla Law's main office is in Montezuma County, Colorado and we are accepting new criminal defense cases.
Cortez, Mancos, Dolores, criminal defense.